Back to the very beginning.

22nd January 1890
In the beginning

It all started back in 1890, when the first students arrived at Leighton Park School.

The first to arrive was Jonathan Hodgkin, who was so eager to be first, that he arrived the day before and stayed in a local hotel.

Archive Range 1890 to 1899
1890-1899

Archive materials from 1890 to 1899

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1890
22nd January 1890

Leighton Park School was opened with 4 boy boarders

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1894

Herbert Jones becomes Headmaster; he was already teaching at Leighton Park when Benjamin Townson tragically died.

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1892

Now known as The Annexe, the first laboratory and Lecture hall built.

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1894

Grove House opened; Frederick Edminson was the first House-master.

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1899

John Ridges becomes Headmaster

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1900 to 1910

1900s:  Leighton Park definitely on the map now, but numbers fluctuate.

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1910 to 1919

1910s               Charles Evans guides the school through the WW1 years, numbers rise and new buildings- Peckover and Townson - appear.

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1910

Charles Evans becomes Headmaster in 1910; his wise leadership steadied the school through the first World War.

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1917
28th July 1917

A telegram was sent to Old Leightonians in the  Friends Ambulance Unit in France, holding a dinner near Dunkirk by Old Leightonians holding the annual event at Leighton Park. 

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1920 to 1929

The 1920s at Leighton Park

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1920
7th May 1920

Townson opened; originally used as Junior House "Third House" until 1928.  It then became used mainly for Hobbies.  It housed the Headmaster's study for many years.

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1923
3rd March 1923

Fryer House opened, originally as the Hospice (sanatorium) on 3rd March 1923. It was built by the family of OL Joseph Fryer, who died in a climbing accident in 1921, to recognise the happy years that Joseph had spent at Leighton Park.

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1926

Travel Scholarships were established

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1928 to 1929

Sir Phillip Reckitt donated and opened the original Reckitt House, in memory of his son.

 

 

 

 

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1928

Edgar Castle becomes Headmaster

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1930 to 1939

Leighton Park in the 1930s

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1934
28th July 1934

Cricket Pavilion presented to the school by the Old Leightonian community

pavilion.jpg

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1934

The Squash court was built in 1934, a gift from Sir Egbert Cadbury.  It was converted to the Drama Studio in 1999.

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1940 to 1949

Edgar Castle and the largely Quaker staff worked hard to keep a sense of normality for the boys in extraordinary times.

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1944

During the war years, the school became home for many Jewish refugee boys from Eastern Europe. Much of the parkland and sports fields were converted to land to grow vegetables.  German pupil, Old Leightonians and a member of staff were interned: Charles Evans fought hard for fair treatment for them all.

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1948

John Ounsted becomes Headmaster, the school's youngest member of staff, aged 27

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1950 to 1959
Archive Range 1960 to 1969
Archive Range 1964

Field House opened.

1965 Field House. Photo JG

 

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1960

Modern Languages block built in 1960; originally a one storey building.

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1970 to 1979
Archive Range 1971

Bill Spray becomes Headmaster

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1972

Main Hall and music department were opened. 

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1975

The first girls joined Leighton Park Sixth Form

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1980 to 1989
Archive Range 1985

Fryer became the junior house, as students aged 11 were now accepted

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1990 to 1999
Archive Range 1990

New School House opens.

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1990

New Reckitt House opens in 1990.

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1986

John Chapman becomes Headmaster.

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1992

David Linday Centre built, for science and technology.  It was opened in 1993 by Helen Sharman, Britain's first astronaut.

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1995

John Dunston becomes Headmaster

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 2000 to 2009

2004 Opening of Oakview

 

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1895

First swimming pool opened on July 27th 1895

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1947

Frensham House purchased, as a Junior House, until 1964.

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1962

Fryer House opened (as a boarding house)

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1974

New swimming pool built (originally open air)

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 1986

First House Music competition held

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 2004

Sir Steve Redgrave opens Oakview, central dining centre on October 20th 2004.

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 2006

Opening of the Caradon Sixth Form Centre

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 2007
19th June 2007

John Ounsted opens the John Ounsted building

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 2009

The International Baccalaureate was introduced as an alternative to A Levels in the 6th Form, appealing to British and international students alike. 

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 2010 to 2019
Archive Range 2011

Alex McGrath becomes Headmaster.

Continue to explore key date
Archive Range 2013

Nigel Williams becomes Headmaster.

Continue to explore key date
Latest Archives

news . 13th Dec 2018


Open Issue

Instagram . 19th Nov 2018

You can't beat a bowl of porridge on a cold morning. Maybe the scripture reading might not be so well received these days #leightonparkschool

Porridge 1890s.png


Open Photo

Twitter . 16th Nov 2018

Total eclipse of the Park? #OTD 1910 @LPSchool boys were awoken at 11.30pm to watch an #eclipse. #astronomy #skyatnight #Berkshire

Eclipse twitter.png